Happy Valentine’s Day

Image

Today is Valentine’s Day. Or, as men like to call it, Extortion day. – Jay Leno.

 

February 14… Valentine’s Day… Lovers’ Day.

The whole blown-out-of-proportion Valentine’s Day is here again. It comes with it, its usual fever which is often diagnosed by an indisputable rise in body temperature – internal and external, increased heart rate and even visible nervousness and tremors.

These symptoms are evident by the non-stop ‘Valentine’s Day’ shows advertised on radios, TVs and everywhere else you can think of… even churches are not left out in the fever these days, lol. Other much more personal symptoms are frequent telephone calls, pings, text messages, reminders from couples in relationships… need I clarify that by ‘couples’ I really mean ladies in relationships? Then the desperate need to have a Valentine’s Date, or you’d be left on your own… a lonely geek. The scariest and funniest symptom that have many *men in particular* playing the just-before-Valentine’s-Day-break-up-game is the frantic pressure to find and to receive the right present. This particular fever symptom is responsible for why gift stores hit profit margins this period and many bank accounts suffer unplanned dips.

But in spite of all these fevers,  pressures and dips, the beginning of every new year is always hyped with the anticipation of the soon-to-come February 14 – Val’s Day.

I’m a little hyped myself… not as many of you are I must say. I wonder if M. has a surprise date or gift in store for me? Hmmm, that’d be really surprising, lol.

Anyhoo, since Val’s Day is really all about love, I decided to do a little research *winks* and get some quotes on love and Valentine’s Day.

Hope you catch a bit of fun reading them and maybe ponder on a thing or two, hmm?

 

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.” – 1 Cor. 13:4-7.


“Love is not some tool for manipulation. Love is a gift – love is from God. Love means everything.” – Siri Mitchell, A constant Heart.

“Love never dies a natural death. It dies because we don’t know how to replenish its source. It dies of blindness and errors and betrayals. It dies of illness and wounds; it dies of weariness, of witherings, of tarnishings.”  – Anaïs Nin.

“The best love is the kind that awakens the soul and makes us reach for more, that plants a fire in our hearts and brings peace to our minds. And that’s what you’ve given me. That’s what I’d hoped to give you forever.” ― Nicholas Sparks.

“I don’t understand why Cupid was chosen to represent Valentine’s Day. When I think about romance, the last thing on my mind is a short, chubby toddler coming at me with a weapon.” – Unknown.

“It is probably not love that makes the world go around, but rather those mutually supportive alliances through which partners recognize their dependence on each other for the achievement of shared and private goals”. – Fred Allen.

“Love is not blind; it sees more, not less. But because it sees more, it is willing to see less.” – Julius Gordon.

“I wanted to make it really special on Valentine’s Day, so I tied my boyfriend up. And for three solid hours I watched whatever I wanted on TV.” – Tracy Smith.

“The poor wish to be rich, the rich wish to be happy, the single wish to be married, and the married wish to be dead.” – Ann Landers.

“Valentine’s Day is when a lot of married men are reminded what a poor shot Cupid really is.” – Unknown. 

 

 

The Ann Landers quote got me lol. Hmm, sometimes… the dead part could be true *winks*

4 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. You have a way with words, got me literally laughing out loud, I love the quote by unknown the most. Truly not one has in mind at all 😀 😀

  2. niceeeeeeeeeee

    I love the one by unknown and Tracey Smith. Tracey smith’s quote is sooo funny! Tie him up and watch TV,lool

    And the Bible verse 1 Corinthians 13 just beats it all
    Yea, val’s day is so hyped. I mean for a loveless world aka one that’s speedily going on a downward spiral, how come they hype this day so much? I suppose because of the way the hearts of men have been fashioned.

    Lovely post. 🙂

Enjoyed? Tell us...

