The Unknown Tomorrow by Marie-Antoinette Otobo

For better or worse here

Hiya peeps, remember my niece’s story which I promised you guys, well it’s kicking off today, *winks*. She entitled it — No one knows tomorrow — but I thought, The unknown tomorrow sounded better. She is thirteen, right now in JSS3 and she’d really love your comments on this story. It’s not her first, she’s been writing seriously since last year. But it’s one she’s really proud of.

It is a play… a little nollywoody, in my opinion, lol. I hope you guys enjoy it. And I hope to see lots of comments I’d be telling her about.

P.S.

Everything you’ll read is all hers, except for a very few touches, it’s just the way she wrote it.

Enjoy.

Unknown tomorrow

ACT 1: SCENE 1

 

(Light falls on a well decorated sitting room.

A woman in her mid-thirties is walking up and down, soliloquizing)

 

Adaeze: Oh my God, what kind of problem is this? Since ten years I have not take in talk less of having a miscarriage. I have been to all the prayer houses and even to Ojadike, the greatest native doctor in this town, and yet nothing happened. I have been to different hospitals and they said nothing is wrong with me and my husband and yet I’m still without a child.

(Just then the door opens and a man comes in without her noticing)

Chike: And what is my dear wife thinking at this time of the day?

Adaeze: (Startled) Ah, I didn’t you come in. Welcome, dear.

(Goes and collects his briefcase, pulls of his shoes, socks and coat)

Let me go and drop this.

(She goes inside and then returns)

Chike: I’m so hungry. What did you prepare please?

Adaeze: I prepared your favourite—pounded yam and banga soup.

(Chike walks to the dining table where a tray of food is set. He sits down and eats. A few minutes later, he is done and returns to the sitting room)

Chike: Hmm, what a delicacy. I really enjoyed myself.

Adaeze: I knew you will enjoy it.

Chike: (smiling) I always trust your cooking.

(There is silence as Chike picks his teeth)

Adaeze: (clears her throat) Dear, I have something I want to discuss with you.

Chike: (Frowning a little) I hope there is no problem?

Adaeze: There is o.

Chike: What is the problem?

Adaeze: The problem is our childlessness.

Chike: (His frowns deepens) Ada, I have told you times without number That God’s time is the best.

Adaeze: I have been waiting for God’s time since ten years of marriage. Ten good years of marriage, Chike!

Chike: (Sighs) So, what do you want us to do?

Adaeze: I have two suggestions—one, we adopt or two, we part ways.

Chike: (Crosses his hands over his legs) And is parting ways the best solution to our problem?

Adaeze: At least if we part ways, you can marry another woman and see if you can have a child of your own.

Chike: Again I ask, is that the best solution?

Adaeze: (Defiantly) I don’t know what is best or not but I just want something to happen. Something, anything at all… but this empty childless situation.

Chike: (Looks at her and shakes his head) Ada, I still think God’s time is the best. I don’t object to adoption but I think we should wait some more before we decide. As for partings ways, I say forget it. Let us be a little more patient.

(Adaeze is quiet for some time. She wipes the tears that have gathered in her eyes and then she nods)

Adaeze: Okay dear, I agree with you. I don’t really like the idea of leaving you. As you say, let us be patient.

Chike: (Smiling at her) So, you don’t like it but you suggested it? (Laughing) You women, eh, always forming.

Adaeze: (Laughing with him) I was only thinking of you o.

 

(Light fades out)

 

Act 1: Scene 2

 

(Light falls on a well furnished office. Chike is signing some documents.

Then suddenly he stops and drops his pen)

 

Chike: (Muttering to himself) It’s been one month now since Ada and I discussed this issue of childlessness, now I’m beginning to wonder if God’s time will ever come. I am beginning to think that what Ada said about adoption might be a good idea.

(He thinks for a while and then shakes his head)

But I just can’t give up now after waiting ten good years to have my own child. No, I won’t give up. I will still wait for God’s time. As far as we have gone for tests and they say nothing is wrong with both of us, we will wait.

(Nnamdi comes in. He is a friend and colleague)

Nnamdi: Chike! Chike!

Chike: (Startled) Nnamdi, when did you come? I didn’t notice.

Nnamdi: (Takes a seat) How will you when you were lost in thoughts again.

Chike: So, what brings you here?

Nnamdi: I just came to inform you that we have a meeting tomorrow by nine am with Herock Limited. It’s been settled.

Chike: Oh, okay. Thanks for informing me.

Nnamdi: So, tell me what was on your mind that you were even mumbling to yourself?

Chike: (Sighing) What else will I be thinking about but this child issue?

Nnamdi: Are you giving up?

Chike: Of course not. But truthfully Nnamdi, I am becoming more than worried here. Imagine ten years of marriage and I haven’t heard the cry of a baby in my home. If you were in my shoes, won’t you be a mad man talking to himself, eh?

Nnamdi: (compassionately) I understand, my friend. But you have always believed that God’s time is the best and I suggest you wait on Him. Or you guys can adopt. It’s not a bad option, you know.

Chike: I know it’s not. But my head is so confused at this critical moment, Nnamdi. I am highly confused. I just feel like a miserable human being right now.

Nnamdi: (Getting up) C’mon, forget all this for now. Let us go somewhere where you can chill out for a while, okay?

(Chike considers the suggestion. Then decides to go for it)

Chike: You are right, I think it’s a good idea. It’s lunch time anyway, so let’s go.

(They both step out of the office).

 

(Light fades out)

 

6 thoughts on “The Unknown Tomorrow by Marie-Antoinette Otobo

Enjoyed? Tell us...

