Soul Train – IN THE BEGINNING

Soul Train

Let me begin by being completely honest—I am not the ‘Preacher’ kind. And I don’t use ‘preacher’ in a derogatory manner, I am just stating a fact—I am the I-am-a-Christian-and-I-mind-my-business-just-being-that kind of Christian. But Jesus did say, ‘go into all the world and proclaim the gospel to the whole creation’ (Mark 16:15 ESV).

Now isn’t that the scariest order you ever got? It surely is for me. I hear it and I am scared shitless *sorry, Lord, for the swear word, just being me*.

But the fact is that being a Christian and preaching God’s word isn’t some kind of heavy-duty thing some heavy-duty Christians make it out to be. It is a lifestyle, a heart-style and a soul-style. It is simply how you live every day being guided by the fact that the only permanent thing in you is your SOUL.

Which brings me to why I chose this to be titled, SOUL TRAIN.

It is a simple reason actually. I always loved the name for that musical show, Soul Train, and I always used to imagine what if our souls were on a moving train that is called Earth and when you get to your stop, you just press this little, red button and the door slides open and you jump down and join the angels…

I never think of people jumping down and joining the demons, it’s not how God wanted or wants it and it’s not how I dream it.

I guess I’m a little over imaginative. But that’s the huge talent God gave me, ‘go ye, Theo, and imagine’… or something to that effect.

So, Soul Train because we are all souls really on a journey, whether we choose to be conscious of that fact or not. There is no permanent home here on Mother Earth and that is the truth.

IN THE BEGINNING was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. (John 1:1 TNIV).

My very best scripture verse after the one where God says, ‘…take dominion over all things…’ I love this verse of the Bible. It says a lot, it explains Jesus Christ. It tells us who Our Lord, Saviour, Master, Friend and Brother is. It tells us who our God is.

He is the Word. Jesus is the Word. He is that Word we ought to preach. That lifestyle we ought to live. That heart-style we ought to possess and that soul-style we ought to become. JESUS, the Beginning and the End.

He is not some scary, slave-master. He is not the obey-me-or-I’ll-strike-you-dead kind of God. You don’t need me to tell you that… just look at us (you and me). We live as we please. We call the shots about our lifestyles. We tell God, the Almighty, Our Creator—‘hey, back off, I got this’. And He stays at a safe distance and watches until we mess things up, as we’ll surely will, and then He comes right back and fixes our mess.

That is our God. That is our Jesus. That is the Holy Spirit.

In the beginning was the Word. In the beginning was God. He is our beginning and if we are wise (and we should be because our Maker is Wisdom) then we should continue with that beginning (God) and we should end with Him… for He is the End.

I hope I haven’t talked too much. I am one of those who don’t like Preachers who stand forever on the pulpit yapping. You say it (short and straight-to-the-point) and you stand down and let God minister to the willing heart. Simple.

But remember, I am no preacher… uh-uh. I am just a sinner giving space to my Talent-Giver, c’est tout! And that is French for ‘that’s all’.

Now, if you comment (God never forces any of us and on God’s own section here at Alifediary, I won’t force comments. Be guided by your soul) and you have a question, ASK AWAY and we’ll try to find the answers together. And if you feel you want to share something—an experience, a thought, a Word, an advice—anything at all, indicate by your comment and I’ll just hand the mike over to you the next week.

You’ll send in your thought or whatever it is via email (tusmich13@gamil.com) and I’ll be honoured to share it.

Let us not forget that God is our beginning and if we are wise, we should let Him be our End. Have a blessings-filled week.

25 thoughts on “Soul Train – IN THE BEGINNING

  1. Hehehehe, ‘and if we are wise, we should let Him be our end’, that line funny sha, anyways, nice piece we ve here, ‘the Soul’,hmmm, and she says she is no ‘preacher’. Well, c’est tout Spicey

  2. I don’t know where I am when it comes to religion at this point. I was headed away most of my life. Now I am rethinking my thinking. And no I do not wish to share said thinking.

  3. *kneeling down* *asking God for forgiveness* I was at church today and i didn’t understand a word the pastor said (sorry my D S) But here i am, five hours after service reading a “preacher’s lesson” and soaking up everything like sponge. this part part hits me: “……. He is not some scary, slave-master. He is not
    the obey-me-or-I’ll-strike-you-dead kind of
    God. You don’t need me to tell you that… just
    look at us (you and me). We live as we please.
    We call the shots about our lifestyles. We tell
    God, the Almighty, Our Creator—‘hey, back off,
    I got this’. And He stays at a safe distance and
    watches until we mess things up, as we’ll
    surely will, and then He comes right back and
    fixes our mess.” alleluia, praise God, sermon ended. @T M…… sighs* well done, looking forward to next week.

  4. Hey TM,you’re my Pastor for today,Am really feeling the sunday Vibe!! *Preach sister!! Preach*

    As sad as I am to say,This might be my last comment for a while NB:-My Bis yaff finish…..Errrm..You were Quoting john 1 not quite long ago so Errrm Lemme ask for BIS!!!!!!! *Covers face and Runs Away*

Enjoyed? Tell us...

